Learning English and Practicing Journalistic Style, Trainer Post

Islamic Calender

The Blessed Month of Ramadan
The Blessed Month of Ramadan

Islamic calendar – the lunar calendar used by Muslims; dates from 622 AD (the year of the Hegira); the beginning of the Muslim year retrogresses through the solar year completing the cycle every 32 years i.e. every 32 solar years, one year is added to the Islamic lunar calendar.

The names of the twelve Islamic months are as follows:

1.            Muharram

2.            Safar

3.            Rabiul-Awwal

4.            Rabi-uthani

5.            Jumadi-ul-Awwal

6.            Jumadi-uthani

7.            Rajab

8.            Sha’ban

9.            Ramadan

10.          Shawwal

11.          Dhil-Q’ada

12.          Dhil-Hijja

It’s sunny today in the Holy City of Karbala.  It’s a sunny day in the Holy City of Karbala.

It is the first day of the Blessed Month of Ramada. We are fasting. We may feel hungry and thirsty but it is ok for several reasons.

•             It is a religious obligatory/ duty in Islam

•             It is a training to feel how poor people live

•             It is a training for us to feel what the Day of Resurrection sounds like

•             It is an act rewarded by Allah


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s